Author: Kate Eastham

Publication Date: October 21, 2020

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Book Description

Jo forced herself to look into the cot, but at first all she could see was grey dust from the explosion. Then, a tiny hand poked out through a layer of grit. In seconds she had the child scooped up and she could feel its little body warm against her own. She felt an almost painful surge of emotion welling up from the pit of her stomach. With tears pouring down her cheeks, she stood rocking and soothing the baby, knowing there was very little chance the child’s mother had survived.

England, 1941. After three nights of relentless bombing from German aircraft, trained nurse Jo Brooks is told to report to the basement theatre of Mill Road Hospital. She goes with a heavy heart, not wanting to leave behind her best friend Moira, who is desperately soothing new mothers on the maternity ward. As Jo arrives safely underground, the ward takes a direct hit.

Pulling herself from the rubble, Jo’s first priority must be her patients… but she can’t stop herself frantically searching for Moira. When Jo eventually finds her, buried beneath a foot of bricks and stone, Moira is barely clinging to life. Jo makes a solemn vow: she will do whatever it takes to help the allies win the war, even if it means sacrificing her own safety.

The opportunity to make good on her promise comes sooner than she expects – nurses are badly needed to evacuate wounded allies across enemy lines. It will be dangerous, heartbreaking work and her life will be at risk every moment, but Jo knows that the moment has come to prove herself at last

A powerfully emotional wartime novel about friendship and love in the most terrible of circumstances. Perfect for fans of Diney Costeloe, Jean Grainger and Soraya M. Lane.  

Review

An Angel’s Work by Kate Eastham is a great World War II novel about two nurses. I loved these characters and was hooked from the first page.

Jo and Mac are nurses in an English hospital during World War II. One night Mac is working in the maternity ward while Jo is working in the basement theater. The last three nights German aircrafts were bombing the city. This night the hospital gets bombed. Everything changes after that.

Will Mac make it out alive? How will Jo’s life change as a result of this bombing?

I loved waiting to see how this story would unfold.

An Angel’s Work is beautifully written. Some of the hospital scenes were so descriptive I cringed because I cannot handle blood. The story is great and the characters are even better.

Both of these women are strong and independent. They handle situations differently but always helping people and doing what they think is best. Mac falls in love quickly days before the bombing while Jo avoids love.

Jo and Mac are best friends but completely opposite personalities. At the beginning of the book, Mac is going out every night because she wants to live her life to the fullest. On the other hand, Jo stays in every night and tries to make Mac stay in to remain safe. Jo is always afraid of what will happen next in the war.

An Angel’s Work is a story of love, heartbreak, friendship, and duty. It is an emotional World War II story.

I recommend An Angel’s Work to World War II Historical Fiction fans.

Thank you NetGalley and Bookouture for An Angel’s Work.

About the Author

A change in circumstance meant Kate Eastham made the shift from a career in nursing to being a carer for her partner. Determined to make the most of this new role ‘working from home’ and inspired by an in-depth study of the origins of nursing, she wrote her first novel at the kitchen table. Miss Nightingale’s Nurses was published by Penguin in 2018, closely followed by three more in the series. With her passion for history, Kate aims to make visible the lives of ordinary yet extraordinary women from the past. Her current historical fiction is set during the World Wars and will be published by Bookouture.   

Author Links:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/eastham_kate

Buy Links:

https://bit.ly/2FtbZFc

3 thoughts on “Blog Tour Book Review: An Angel’s Work

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s