Author: Peter Hogenkamp

Publication Date: October 20, 2020

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

Book Description

“Bless me, Father, for I have sinned…” Marco Venetti has heard the words thousands of times before. But this is a cry for help, not absolution—and soon Marco finds himself racing against time to foil a conspiracy aimed at the heart of the Vatican…

It is an ordinary day in Marco Venetti’s quiet coastal parish—but the woman who’s come to confess is not ordinary. Marco has always been drawn to beautiful Elena, and she brings news that will shatter his peace.

Elena’s sister and daughter have been kidnapped, to force her to bring a gang of ruthless men into the country—if she doesn’t, her family will be brutally killed. But if she obeys, many more innocents will die… In her desperation she turns to Marco, knowing his time in the military has given him the skills she needs. Determined to protect her, Marco draws on the violent past he has tried to forget.

A terrifying battle on a rocky island offshore leaves no survivors. But after the last man is dead, Marco finds a note on one of the men’s bodies, a map that reveals their ultimate goal: a deadly terrorist attack on the Vatican City itself.

Marco and Elena find themselves racing to reach the Vatican City, and stop the deadly threat against the pope. But Marco quickly realises that his mission isn’t over. Accompanied by a CIA assassin, Marco must prevent a deadly weapon falling into the wrong hands or see a truly apocalyptic outcome. Once more he must confront his own darker nature, and decide whether a man of God can justify going to war…

For fans of Joel C. Rosenberg, Tom Clancy and Steven Konkoly, The Vatican Conspiracy is a non-stop explosive thriller of betrayal, revenge and world-shaking conspiracy.

Review

The Vatican Conspiracy (A Marco Venetti Thriller Book 1) by Peter Hogenkamp is a great action packed novel.

Elena’s sister and daughter are being held hostage forcing Elena to help transport men on her boat. She turns to Marco, a priest she has a past with, for help. Elena and Marco end up on a mission to save the pope. However, information is uncovered to lead them to believe the terrorists are planning to attack Vatican City and not just the pope. This leads Marco and Elena on a crazy mission.

The Vatican conspiracy pulled me in from the first page. There was so much action. The book is told from many character’s perspective which I found interesting. You get to see inside the minds of the terrorists as well as the good guys. There was a lot going on in this book, but Hogenkamp told the story so well that there wasn’t any confusion.

The Vatican Conspiracy had some great characters. All of the characters were very unique. Elena’s family was her first priority and she would do anything to keep them safe. She also is the reason they are in danger. Sarah is a sniper brought in to help save Vatican City. She is a strong female character. Very little is revealed about her, so I am looking forward to learn more in future books.

Marco is a great and unique character. How many priests go after bad guys with guns? I had no problem with a priest shooting guns and killing people. At first I was very uncomfortable with a priest having a love interest. As the book went on you see Marco’s internal struggles, which made me realize Marco being a priest really added to the story. Marco feels like he isn’t worthy because he’s killed people and has romantic feelings for a woman.

Reading The Vatican Conspiracy reminded me of my trip to Vatican City and Rome. It’s always fun to read about a place you’ve been or would like to go. Fortunately there weren’t any terrorist attacks or shooting people involved in my trip.

The Vatican Conspiracy is a great novel. I am shocked this is Peter Hogenkamp’s debut novel. I cannot wait for the next book in the Macro Vanetti series.

I highly recommend The Vatican Conspiracy for fans of action packed thrillers. I would caution anyone religious that the main character is a priest that kills people and has a romantic interest.

Thank you NetGalley and Bookouture for The Vatican Conspiracy.

About the Author

Peter Hogenkamp was born in upstate New York and attended the College of the Holy Cross in Worcester, Massachusetts. (Go Crusaders!) He graduated in 1986 and was exiled to Europe for three years by his premedical adviser, for which he will be grateful the rest of his days. Spending the next three years – supposedly – teaching chemistry and algebra in Salzburg, Austria, he traveled extensively, drank a lot of beer and made many a lifelong friend. In his travels, he found dozens of great places for scenes in a thriller: castles perched on cliffs; monasteries tucked away in alpine valleys; villages built above rocky coastlines; cities soaked in history. When he isn’t writing or hiking with his strong-willed Cairn Terrier, Hermione, Peter practices medicine with his lovely wife, Lisa (who does most of the heavy lifting), hosts Your Health Matters, which airs on cable television, streams on YouTube and sounds off on podcast, and tends to the needs of his four children.

Author Links:

Website: peterhogenkampbooks.com

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/phogenkampVT

Facebook:   https://www.facebook.com/peterhogenkampbooks

Buy Links:

Amazon: https://geni.us/B08D6NVWB1Social 

Apple: http://ow.ly/TAAd50ACRX0

Kobo: http://ow.ly/fXEb50ACRTG

Google: http://ow.ly/hAEU50ACS2Y

4 thoughts on “Blog Tour Book Review: The Vatican Conspiracy

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s