Author: Lesley Sanderson

Publication Date: December 18, 2020

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Book Description

Dear Louise. It’s time we all put the past behind us. We’re meeting for my birthday. I want you there. Love, Amy. X

When Louise receives an invitation to her old friend Amy’s birthday weekend in a cottage next to the woods near their old university campus, a chill runs down her spine.

Fifteen years ago, Hannah walked into those same woods and never came back. Her death destroyed her friends. They’ve not met as a group since. Until now.

As the party gets underway and old grudges are uncovered, a game of truth or dare is proposed. It’s clear one person has questions about their friend’s death – and now they want answers. And nothing will stop them.

When everyone has buried secrets, digging for the truth is going to get dangerous.

A gripping and addictive psychological thriller that will keep you turning the pages, for fans of Gillian Flynn, Teresa Driscoll and Ruth Ware.

Book Review

The Birthday Weekend by Lesley Sanderson is an excellent, twisted thriller about a group of female friends.

Amy invites her four college best friends to a small birthday gathering for her thirty fifth birthday. After a tough year she wants to celebrate, but also wants to discuss the past. The group hasn’t been all together since the fifth member of their group, Hannah died in the woods fifteen years ago. The friends discuss their last encounters with Hannah to try to uncover what actually happened. Secrets will be revealed about all the characters which will leave everyone wondering who they really know. Will anyone tell the truth? Will a game of truth or dare lead to answers?

The Birthday Weekend grabbed my attention from the first page. The story is told from Louise’s perspective. She considered herself to be Hannah’s best friend, so thought she knew her the best. After discussing Hannah she starts to question if she actually knew her at all. All the women come into the weekend with complicated home situations. There is also drama and strained relationships between some of the friends. I loved the suspense throughout the book. Sanderson did a great job building up to the revelation at the end. None of the characters are how they seem, which made it impossible for the reader to guess what happened.

I recommend The Birthday Weekend for fans of thrillers focused on groups of women.

Thank you Bookouture and NetGalley for The Birthday Weekend.

About the Author

Lesley attended the Curtis Brown Creative 6 month novel writing course in 2015/6, and in 2017 The Orchid Girls (then On The Edge) was shortlisted for the Lucy Cavendish fiction prize.

Lesley is the author of psychological thrillers and spends her days writing in coffee shops in Kings Cross where she lives and works as a librarian. She loves the atmosphere and eclectic mix of people in the area. Lesley discovered Patricia Highsmith as a teenager and has been hooked on psychological thrillers ever since.

Author Links:

Buy Links:

Question of the Day

How do you like to celebrate your birthday?

6 thoughts on “Book Review Blog Tour: The Birthday Weekend

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s