Author: Judithe Little

Publication Date: December 29, 2020

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Book Description

For fans of The Paris Wife, The Only Woman in the Room, and The Woman Before Wallis, a riveting historical novel narrated by Coco Chanel’s younger sister about their struggle to rise up from poverty and orphanhood and establish what will become the world’s most iconic fashion brand in Paris.

A novel of survival, love, loss, triumph—and the sisters who changed fashion forever

Antoinette and Gabrielle “Coco” Chanel know they’re destined for something better. Abandoned by their family at a young age, they’ve grown up under the guidance of nuns preparing them for simple lives as the wives of tradesmen or shopkeepers. At night, their secret stash of romantic novels and magazine cutouts beneath the floorboards are all they have to keep their dreams of the future alive.

The walls of the convent can’t shield them forever, and when they’re finally of age, the Chanel sisters set out together with a fierce determination to prove themselves worthy to a society that has never accepted them. Their journey propels them out of poverty and to the stylish cafés of Moulins, the dazzling performance halls of Vichy—and to a small hat shop on the rue Cambon in Paris, where a boutique business takes hold and expands to the glamorous French resort towns.

But the sisters’ lives are again thrown into turmoil when World War I breaks out, forcing them to make irrevocable choices, and they’ll have to gather the courage to fashion their own places in the world, even if apart from each other.8     DOWNLOAD(Added 286 Days Ago) 

Book Review

The Chanel Sisters is an interesting historical fiction novel about Antoinette and her sister Gabrielle “Coco” Chanel. The book starts out with the sisters living in an orphanage as children. The Chanel Sisters goes through the sisters’ lives and struggles. The sisters are trying to be more throughout the book. Little is known about Antoinette, so Judithe Little based the book on what she thinks and hopes happened in Antoinette’s life.

The Chanel Sisters is fascinating. Antoinette and Gabrielle had a lot of struggles in their lives, which made me very invested in this story from the beginning. All of the characters in The Chanel Sisters were unique and interesting. I loved the story. Little described Antoinette and Gabrielle’s struggles in a way that was interesting and not depressing. The Chanel Sisters covered a very long period of time, but didn’t drag at all or skip important events. There were points in the book where I personally wanted things to go differently, but by the end of the book I really understood why Little made the decisions she did about the characters. I didn’t really know what to expect from this book, but really enjoyed it.

Thank you Edelweiss and Harper Collins/Graydon House for The Chanel Sisters.

About the Author

Judithe is the author of two novels, The Chanel Sisters, to be released December 29, 2020, and Wickwythe Hall, award-winning historical fiction set during World War II.

She grew up in Virginia and earned a Bachelor of Arts in Foreign Affairs from the University of Virginia. After studying at the Institute of European Studies and the Institut Catholique in Paris, France, and interning at the U.S. Department of State, she earned a law degree from the University of Virginia School of Law where she was on the Editorial Board of the Journal of International Law and a Dillard Fellow. She lives in Houston, Texas, with her husband and three children, where she is working on her third novel. When she’s not writing or practicing law, Judithe enjoys riding horses, reading, scouring the fields during Round Top Antiques Week, and volunteering. 

Author Links:

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Chanel Sisters

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s