Author: Lily Graham

Publication Date: January 12, 2020

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Book Description

‘Our parents were taken. And if we go home, the Nazis will take us too…’

Hamburg 1938. Fifteen-year-old Asta is hurrying home from school with her twin brother Jurgen. The mood in the city is tense – synagogues have been smashed with sledgehammers, and Asta is too frightened to laugh as she used to.

But when she and Jurgen are stopped in the street by a friend, her world implodes further. Her Jewish parents have been dragged into the streets by German soldiers and if she and Jurgen return to their house, they will be taken too.

Heartbroken at the loss of her parents, Asta knows they must flee. With her beloved brother, she must make the perilous journey across Germany and into Denmark to reach their only surviving relative, her aunt Trine, a woman they barely know.

Jammed into a truck with other refugees, Asta prays for a miracle to save herself and Jurgen. Crossing the border is a crime punishable by death, and what she and Jurgen must embark on a dangerous crossing on foot, through the snowy forest dividing Germany and Denmark. And when barking dogs and armed soldiers find Jurgen and Asta escapes, she must hold on to hope no matter what. One day she will find her twin, the other half of herself. Whatever the price she has to pay…

A gripping and poignant read that will break your heart and give you hope. Fans of Fiona Valpy, Kristin Hannah and Catherine Hokin will be gripped by the story of a brave brother and sister seeking safety during one of the darkest times in our history.  

Book Review

The German Girl is a heartbreaking World War II novel.

The German Girl starts with a woman moving to Sweden to take care of her grandfather after breaking up with her boyfriend. Her grandfather gets confused and doesn’t always say things that make sense. He starts talking German, a language he hates. This opens up the story of a past nobody knew about.

Asta and Juergen’s parents were taken by the Nazis. If they go home, they will be taken too. They have to try to escape the country to stay with their aunt in Denmark. The twins grew up pulling pranks and now have to count on strangers to escape. They have to figure out who they can trust and hope they don’t make the wrong choices.

The German Girl is a heartbreaking story of teenager twins that will do anything for each other. Trine hardly knows her niece and nephew. When her niece shows up unexpectedly at her house, she will do anything for her. She is worried about her niece and trying to help her through her grief. Asta is struggling and needs to be convinced she wants to survive. Asta slowly develops a friendship with Oliver. Asta was a scared teenager that wouldn’t let anything stop her. I really enjoyed this story. There were unexpected twists in the story that kept me invested.

I recommend The German Girl to fans of World War II novels.

Thank you Bookouture and NetGalley for The German Girl.

About the Author

Lily has been telling stories since she was a child, starting with her imaginary rabbit, Stephanus, and their adventures in the enchanted peach tree in her garden, which she envisioned as a magical portal to Enid Blyton’s Faraway Tree. She’s never really got out of the habit of making things up, and still thinks of Stephanus rather fondly.

She lives with her husband and her English bulldog, Fudge, and brings her love for the sea and country-living to her fiction.

Author Links:

Buy Links:

6 thoughts on “Book Review Blog Tour: The German Girl

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s