Author: Julia Roberts

Publication Date: January 27, 2021

Book Description

‘They told me he died, but I never believed them. I’d have known,’ she says, her voice little more than a whisper and her eyes searching mine. ‘A mother would know if her child died, wouldn’t she?’

The phone call comes in the middle of the night, rousing Danni from her safe, warm bed. The police have found her mother Diana wandering miles from her house, confused and lost. Danni races to her mother’s side – and as usual, Diana doesn’t seem to want her there. But when Danni finds out that her mother is seriously ill, she decides to put the past behind her, and care for her mother in the time they have left.

But as some of Diana’s memories are slipping away, others are forcing their way to the surface. One night she breaks down and reveals that before Danni was born, she had another baby who never got to see the world. Faced with her mother’s heartbreak, Danni vows to do everything she can to bring Diana some peace, hoping that it will mend their fractured relationship too.

Yet as Danni investigates the past, tracking down the aunt she’s never met and searching for her lost brother’s resting place, her good intentions have unexpected consequences as more truths emerge. And there’s one shocking revelation which could change Danni’s life forever. Are some secrets best left buried?

A completely heartbreaking and compelling story of families, secrets, and the fierce love between mothers and children. Fans of Amanda Prowse, Ali Mercer and Jodi Picoult will smile through their tears.

Book Review

My Mother’s Secret by Julia Roberts is an emotional story about family.

Diana has Alzheimer’s and her daughter, Danni is trying to be as helpful and supportive as necessary. Diana and Danni have always had a difficult relationship. Diana has episodes where she is confused and very angry. During one of these episodes she starts talking about her baby dying. Danni tries to figure out if the baby was part of confusion or a secret her mother has been keeping for years. How will Danni find out the truth without ruining her relationship with her mother?

I really enjoyed My Mother’s Secret and was pulled into the story from the beginning. There are many different family dynamics involved. The story is about a complicated mother daughter relationship and a daughter that is trying to do anything she can to be there for her mother. Diana is dealing with multiple health problems. Diana and Danni are both complex characters. Roberts does a great job explaining why the characters make the choices they do. Danni has daughters that she treats very different than her mother treated her growing up. There are many emotional parts of this book, and some I was prepared for while others shocked me.

I recommend My Mother’s Secret for anyone that likes emotional stories focusing on family.

Thank you Bookouture and NetGalley for My Mother’s Secret.

About the Author

Julia was born in West Bridgford, Nottinghamshire, and began her career as a professional singer/dancer. This enabled her to travel the world in her late teens storing up experiences she has since included in her writing.

Following roles as a hostess on The Price is Right and a member of the Beadle’s About ‘hit squad’ in the 1980s, she became a TV Presenter and filmed features for Sky Sports before launching the QVC shopping channel in 1993 where she still presents today. Having always wanted to write, she penned her first book, a memoir sold on QVC, in 2013 and has since written seven full length novels, two novellas and several short stories.

Author Links:

Buy Links:

FOLLOW ME

Feel Free to follow me on other sites

3 thoughts on “Book Review Blog Tour: My Mother’s Secret

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s