Book Review Blog Tour: The Watchmaker of Dachau

The Watchmaker of Dachau by Carly Schabowski

Author: Carly Schabowski Publication Date: January 20, 2020 ★★★★ Book Description An unforgettable novel of human kindness, inspired by an incredible true story. Snow falls and a woman prepares for a funeral she has long expected, yet hoped would never come. As she pats her hair and straightens her skirt, she tells herself this isn’t…

Book Review: A Mother’s Promise

A Mother's Promise by K.D. Alden

Author: K.D. Alden Publication Date: January 19, 2020 ★★★★ Book Description Based on the true story behind a landmark U.S. Supreme Court Decision, K.D. Alden's debut is a rich and moving story of one woman's courage and determination to get her child back when all odds are stacked against her. Virginia, 1927: All Ruth Ann…

Book Review: The Mermaid from Jeju

The Mermaid from Jeju by Sumi Hahn

Author: Sumi Hahn Narrator: Cindy Kay and Raymond Lee Publication Date: December 8, 2020 ★★★★ Book Description In the aftermath of World War II, Goh Junja is a girl just coming into her own. She is the latest successful deep sea diver in a family of strong haenyeo. Confident she is a woman now, Junja…

Book Review: The Divines

The Divines by Ellie Eaton

Author: Ellie Eaton Narrator: Imogen Church Publication Date: January 19, 2020 ★★★★ Book Description Can we ever really escape our past? The girls of St John the Divine, an elite English boarding school, were notorious for flipping their hair, harassing teachers, chasing boys, and chain-smoking cigarettes. They were fiercely loyal, sharp-tongued, and cuttingly humorous in…

New Releases This Week #7

There are some exciting books publishing this week. Some of these will be reviewed this week, while others unfortunately will be reviewed in the future. A Mother's Promise Author: K.D. Alden Publication Date: January 19, 2020 Based on the true story behind a landmark U.S. Supreme Court Decision, K.D. Alden's debut is a rich and…

Book Review: Sasha Masha

Sasha Masha by Agnes Borinsky

Author: Agnes Borinksy Narrator: Agnes Borinksy Publication Date: November 10, 2020 ★★★★ Book Description In this #OwnVoices LGBTQ young adult debut, Alex comes to realize his true identity as a young woman named Sasha Masha. Alex feels like he is in the wrong body. His skin feels strange against his bones. And then comes Tracy,…

Book Review: The Wife Upstairs

The Wife Upstairs by Rachel Hawkins

Author: Rachel Hawkins Narrators: Emily Shaffer, Kirby Heyborne, Lauren Fortgang Publication Date: January 5, 2021 ★★★★ Book Description A delicious twist on a Gothic classic, The Wife Upstairs pairs Southern charm with atmospheric domestic suspense, perfect for fans of B.A. Paris and Megan Miranda. Meet Jane. Newly arrived to Birmingham, Alabama, Jane is a broke dog-walker in…

Book Review: Find Me in Havana

Find Me in Havana by Serena Burdick

Author: Serena Burdick Narrators: Marisol Ramirez and Frankie Corzo Publication Date: January 12, 2021 ★★★★ Book Description A new historical novel from Serena Burdick, the author of THE GIRLS WITH NO NAMES, based on the true story of Estelita Rodriguez, a Cuban-born Hollywood actress and singer, as her daughter Nina traces her mother's life from…