Author: Edwin Hill

Publication Date: December 29, 2020

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Book Description

In the third intelligently dark suspense novel by two-time Agatha Award-nominated author Edwin Hill, Harvard librarian Hester Thursby becomes enmeshed with a powerful Boston family desperate to keep their deepest secrets from coming to light…

“Complex…a masterly mystery.”—Kirkus Reviews

Fans of Ruth Ware and B.A. Paris won’t want to miss this complex psychological thriller from an acclaimed author about a powerful Boston family desperate to keep their darkest secrets from coming to light.

While attending a gala at Prescott University’s lavish new campus, Hester Thursby and fellow guest, Detective Angela White, are called to the home of the college’s owners, Tucker and Jennifer Matson. Jennifer claims that someone broke into Pinebank, their secluded mansion on the banks of Jamaica Pond. The more Hester and Angela investigate, the less they believe Jennifer’s story, leaving Hester to wonder why she would lie.

When Hester is asked by the college’s general manager to locate some missing alumni, she employs her research skills on the family and their for-profit university. Between financial transgressions, a long-ago tragedy, and rumors of infidelity, it’s clear that the Matsons aren’t immune to scandal or mishap. But when one of the missing students turns up dead, the mystery takes on new urgency.

Hester is edging closer to the truth, but as a decades-old secret collides with new lies, a killer grows more determined to keep the past buried with the dead….

“Hits that elusive sweet spot yet again with an impeccable blend of intelligent and relatable characters confronted with a dangerous and complex crime in a fascinating setting. Hill masterfully ratchets up the tension until it’s impossible to look away. Hester Thursby fans will not be disappointed!”—Karen Dionne, award-winning bestselling author ofThe Wicked Sister

“Suspenseful…a grade-A mystery.”—Publishers Weekly

Book Review

Watch Her by Edwin Hill is a great thriller that will keep the reader guessing with excellent characters.

Hester Thursby is talking to her friend Detective Angela White at a gala at Prescott University when they are sent to the university owner’s house to investigate a break in. Hester and Angela don’t believe someone broke in. Why would Jennifer lie about someone breaking into her house?

Watch Her is the third book in the Hester Thursby Mystery series but can be read as a standalone. The benefit of reading the series in order is that you get attached to the great characters.

Watch Her is a great continuation to the Hester Thursby Mystery series. All of my favorite characters returned. Hester is determined to find out what is going on like always. Hester and Morgan start to open up to each other and share about their pasts. Hester starts to think about what Morgan wants rather than just what she wants. Angela is in this book more than the others and is a great character. The story was very intriguing and I was constantly trying to figure out what was going on. Watch Her includes scandal, lies, and protecting others. I like all the strong female characters in Watch Her especially Hester and Angela. Maxine and Jennifer were interesting characters. They are best friends but do not always treat each other the best. Maxine is trying to be a mother figure to Vanessa, but Jennifer is Vanessa’s mother. There was so much mystery around Barret and I kept switching between thinking he was good or bad. I love this series and hope there will be a book 4.

Thank you Kensington, Books Forward PR, and NetGalley for Watch Her.

About the Author

Edwin is the Edgar- and Agatha-award nominated author of Little Comfort, The Missing Ones, and Watch Her.

He was born in Duxbury, Massachusetts, and spent most of his childhood obsessing over The Famous Five, Agatha Christie, and somehow finding a way into C.S. Lewis’s wardrobe. His parents were fond of taking his sister and him on month-long family camping trips across the U.S. and Canada, and one of his best memories is of finishing a copy of The Seven Dials Mystery while the rest of the family visited Mount Rushmore. Growing up when VHS tapes were new meant that watching AlienJawsThe Shining, or Halloween whenever he wanted seemed luxurious, and still does today. Like Hester Thursby, he watched these movies – and others like them – a lot.  

After attending Wesleyan University and graduating with a B.A. in American Studies, he headed west to San Francisco for the dotcom boom. Later, he returned to Boston, earned an MFA from Emerson College, and switched gears to work in educational publishing. He served as the vice president and editorial director for Bedford/St. Martin’s, a division of Macmillan Learning for many years before turning to writing full time.

He lives in Roslindale, Massachusetts with his partner Michael and his favorite reviewer, their lab Edith Ann, who likes his first drafts enough to eat them. 

A lot of people helped him create this series, and he is a big believer in paying forward.

Author Links:

9 thoughts on “Book Review: Watch Her

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s