Author: Christina Pishiris

Publication Date: January 5, 2021

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Book Description

With a sharp-as-a-tack central character and razor-sharp wit, Love Songs for Skeptics is perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella and Josie Silver

Zoë Frixos is a successful music magazine editor, intent on restoring her paper to its former glory…despite those pesky closure rumors flitting about. Zoë decides to land the coup of the century, securing an interview with her notoriously elusive rock idol. But when faced with the arrogant publicist Nick Jones, a man who seems determined to ruin her career, Zoë wonders how she’s ever going to save the paper she loves.

That’s when she hears the news that upends everything: Simon has come back to town. Simon, her best friend and boy next door, the one who Zoë fell in love with at thirteen, who she’s never quite moved on from. And now, she’s finally determined to tell him how she feels.

As Zoë barters for a career-saving interview, she must decide who is worth fighting for, changing everything Zoë thought she knew about love, music, and the power of second chances.

Book Review

Love Songs for Skeptics is a cute romantic comedy with fake dating, enemies to lovers and a love triangle. Love Songs for Skeptics is an enjoyable light read with a lot happening to keep the reader engaged. I was entertained throughout the book. As a music lover, I loved that the book focuses around the music industry with Zoe being a music journalist trying to get an interview. Zoe has to work with Nick Jones, a publicist she doesn’t like. They end up in a fake relationship but once Zoe gets to know him he is different than he thought. Zoe’s childhood best friend that she has been in love with for years also recently moved back. Zoe is left in a love triangle and has to choose who she wants to be with. She discovers love can be found in unexpected places but has to compare that to the love she’s had for years. I love the mix of so many tropes in a single book as well as music.

Thank you Sourcebooks Landmark and Edelweiss for Love Songs for Skeptics.

About the Author

CHRISTINA PISHIRIS was born in London to Greek Cypriot parents, who used to bribe her to go to family weddings by promising that George Michael might be there. She started her career as a journalist and also works on music documentaries. Love Songs for Skeptics is her debut novel.

Author Links:

5 thoughts on “Book Review Love Songs for Skeptics

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s