Author: Patry Francis

Narrators: Kimberly Woods, Nora Hunter, Mia Barron Patrick Zeller

Publication Date: April 13, 2021

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Book Description

A sweeping saga in the vein of Ask Again, Yes following a foster family through almost a decade of dazzling triumph and wrenching heartbreak—from the author of The Orphans at Race Point.

Set in the late 1950s through 1960s in a small town in Massachusetts, All the Children Are Home follows the Moscatelli family—Dahlia and Louie, foster parents, and their long-term foster children Jimmy, Zaidie, and Jon—and the irrevocable changes in their lives when a six-year-old indigenous girl, Agnes, is comes to live with them..

When Dahlia decided to become a foster mother, she had a few caveats: no howling newborns, no delinquents, and above all, no girls. A harrowing incident years before left her a virtual prisoner in her own home, forever wary of the heartbreak and limitation of a girl’s life.

Eleven years after they began fostering, the Moscatellis are raising three children as their own and Dahlia and Louie consider their family complete, but when the social worker begs them to take a young girl who has been horrifically abused and neglected, they can’t say no.

Six-year-old Agnes Juniper arrives with no knowledge of her Native American heritage or herself beyond a box of trinkets given to her by her mother and dreamlike memories of her sister. Before long, this stranger in their midst has strengthened the bond in this unusual family, showing them how to contend with outside forces that want to tear them apart. Heartfelt and enthralling, All the Children Are Home is a moving testament to how love can survive in the face of devastating losses.

Book Review

All the Children Are Home is a heartbreaking and heartwarming story about family. Dahlia and Louie are happy with their three foster children when they temporarily bring Agnes into their home. This story shows that family is more than blood. All of the characters are put in difficult situations, and it is interesting to see how they react and how it affects their lives. I felt so bad for all the characters at some point. I enjoyed seeing Agnes become part of the family. The viewpoints of the different family members allows the reader to understand what all of the characters went through. All the Children Are Home is a story of family, love and protecting others. I recommend All the Children Are Home to fans of character driven stories about family.

I listened to the audiobook narrated by Kimberly Woods, Nora Hunter, Mia Barron and Patrick Zeller. They all did a great job and I really felt like the characters were telling their stories. I enjoyed having a large cast of narrators with a different narrator for each character.

Thank you Harper Perennial for the ARC and Harper Audio for the ALC.

About the Author

Patry Francis is the author of The Orphans of Race Point and The Liar’s Diary, as well as the blog 100 Days of Discipline for Writers. Her short stories and poetry have appeared in the Tampa Review, Antioch Review, Colorado Review, Ontario Review, and American Poetry Review, among other publications. She is a three-time nominee for the Pushcart Prize and has twice been the recipient of the Massachusetts Cultural Council Grant. She lives in Massachusetts.

Author Links:

3 thoughts on “Book Review: All the Children Are Home

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s