Author: Siobhan Curham

Publication Date: April 20, 2021

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Book Description

1940, London: An unforgettable novel about the strength of the human spirit in the face of war and the remarkable women who put themselves in danger on the front lines during the Battle of Britain.

As a volunteer for the ambulance service, Ruby has the dangerous task of driving along pitch-dark roads during the blackout. With each survivor she pulls from the rubble, she is helping to fight back against the enemy bombers, who leave nothing but destruction in their wake.

Assigned to her crew is Joseph, who is unable to fight but will stop at nothing to save innocent lives. Because he is not in uniform, people treat him with suspicion and Ruby becomes determined to protect this brave, compassionate man who has rescued so many, and captured her heart. Even if it means making an unthinkable choice between saving her own life and risking everything for his…

2019: Recently divorced Edi feels lost and alone when she moves to London to start a new life. Until she makes a discovery, hidden beneath a loose floorboard in her attic, that reveals a secret about the people who lived there in the 1940s. As she gradually uncovers a wartime love story full of danger and betrayal, Edi becomes inspired by the heroism of one incredible woman and the legacy that can be left behind by a single act of courage…

A sweeping tale of bravery and self-sacrifice that shows that even in the midst of war, hope and love can bloom. Perfect for fans of The Alice NetworkThe Secret Messenger and The Lost Girls of Paris.

Book Review

Beyond This Broken Sky is a unique historical fiction novel about the tenants of a flat during World War II and a woman in 2019 that just moves into the same flat. While going through her divorce, Edi buys her own flat in London. While searching the attic, she discovers something that causes her to be curious about the flat and past tenants. One of her neighbors is a published author, so Edi starts to read one of her novels. The novel is a romance during World War II but there is also darkness in the story. Edi finds clues that lead her to believe the story is true and tries to determine the truth from fiction. During World War II, Ruby and Joseph live in the flat and are opposites. Joseph doesn’t like Ruby and they are assigned to work in an ambulance together. Joseph discovers there is more to Ruby than just a shallow rich woman. Joseph opens Ruby’s eyes to injustices to the poor. Can they put their differences aside to fall in love or are they too different? The story switches between past day with Ruby and Joseph and present day with Edi until the connection is revealed at the end. I love Curham’s historical fiction novels and how they switch between the past and present. The past and present stories have an interesting connection. Domestic violence is present in Beyond This Broken Sky. I highly recommend Beyond This Broken Sky to fans of World War II novels.

Thank you Bookouture and NetGalley for Beyond This Broken Sky.

About the Author

Siobhan Curham is an award-winning author, ghost writer, editor and writing coach. She has also written for many newspapers, magazines and websites, including The Guardian, Breathe magazine, Cosmopolitan, Writers’ Forum, DatingAdvice.com, and Spirit & Destiny. Siobhan has been a guest on various radio and TV shows, including Woman’s Hour, BBC News, GMTV and BBC Breakfast. And she has spoken at businesses, schools, universities and literary festivals around the world, including the BBC, Hay Festival, Cheltenham Festival, Bath Festival, Ilkley Festival, London Book Fair and Sharjah Reading Festival.

Author Links:

Buy Links:

  • Amazon
  • Apple
  • Kobo
  • Google

3 thoughts on “Book Review Blog Tour: Beyond This Broken Sky

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s