Author: Pam Jenoff

Narrators: Jennifer Jill Araya, Emily Lawrence, Nancy Peterson

Publication Date: May 5, 2021

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Book Description

From the New York Times bestselling author ofThe Lost Girls of Pariscomes a riveting tale of courage and unlikely friendship during World War II.

1942. Sadie Gault is eighteen and living with her parents in the Kraków Ghetto during World War II. When the Nazis liquidate the ghetto, Sadie and her pregnant mother are forced to seek refuge in the perilous tunnels beneath the city. One day Sadie looks up through a grate and sees a girl about her own age buying flowers.

Ella Stepanek is an affluent Polish girl living a life of relative ease with her stepmother, who has developed close alliances with the occupying Germans. While on an errand in the market, she catches a glimpse of something moving beneath a grate in the street. Upon closer inspection, she realizes it’s a girl hiding.

Ella begins to aid Sadie and the two become close, but as the dangers of the war worsen, their lives are set on a collision course that will test them in the face of overwhelming odds. Inspired by incredible true stories, The Woman with the Blue Star is an unforgettable testament to the power of friendship and the extraordinary strength of the human will to survive.

Book Review

The Woman with the Blue Star is an excellent story of friendship during World War II. This great historical fiction story is told from the perspective of two teenagers. Sadie is Jewish and living in a sewer with her mother and a family they just met. Ella is a rich girl living with her step mother after her father’s death. Her step mother is friends with Nazis and has them over for parties, which Ella doesn’t approve of. All Sadie has is her family, and all Ella wants is someone that cares about her. The Woman with the Blue Star is a great story of friendship. Their friendship developed with short meetings. Their lives seem very different, but they are more similar than they appear. I was very invested in Ella and Sadie’s stories. The characters are all dealing with a lot but still help each other.  There are hardships throughout the book but also some romance. The story takes place in Poland. I have never heard any stories of people living in sewers which is devastating but also makes sense. The Woman with the Blue Star is a must read for fans of Pam Jenoff or World War II novels.

I listened to the audiobook narrated by Jennifer Jill Araya, Emily Lawrence and Nancy Peterson. All the narrators did a great job bringing the characters to life. The spoke with emotion and their voices were different enough I didn’t confuse which character was talking.

Thank you Park Row and Harper Audio for The Woman with the Blue Star.

About the Author

Pam Jenoff is the author of several books of historical fiction, including the NYT bestseller The Orphan’s Tale. She holds a degree in international affairs from George Washington University and a degree in history from Cambridge, and she received her JD from UPenn. Her novels are inspired by her experiences working at the Pentagon and as a diplomat for the State Department handling Holocaust issues in Poland. She lives with her husband and 3 children near Philadelphia, where she teaches law.

Author Links:

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Woman with the Blue Star

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s