Author: Christina Lauren

Narrator: Patti Murin

Publication Date: May 18, 2021

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Book Description

The New York Times best-selling author of The Unhoneymooners returns with a witty and effervescent novel about what happens when two people with everything on the line are thrown together by science – or is it fate? Perfect for fans of The Rosie Project and One Plus One.

Single mom Jess Davis is a data and statistics wizard, but no amount of number crunching can convince her to step back into the dating world. Raised by her grandparents – who now help raise her seven-year-old daughter, Juno – Jess has been left behind too often to feel comfortable letting anyone in. After all, her father’s never been around, her hard-partying mother disappeared when she was six, and her ex decided he wasn’t “father material” before Juno was even born. Jess holds her loved ones close, but working constantly to stay afloat is hard…and lonely.

But then Jess hears about GeneticAlly, a buzzy new DNA-based matchmaking company that’s predicted to change dating forever. Finding a soul mate through DNA? The reliability of numbers: This Jess understands.

At least she thought she did, until her test shows an unheard-of 98 percent compatibility with another subject in the database: GeneticAlly’s founder, Dr. River Pena. This is one number she can’t wrap her head around, because she already knows Dr. Pena. The stuck-up, stubborn man is without a doubt not her soul mate. But GeneticAlly has a proposition: Get to know him and we’ll pay you. Jess – who is barely making ends meet – is in no position to turn it down, despite her skepticism about the project and her dislike for River. As the pair are dragged from one event to the next as the “Diamond” pairing that could make GeneticAlly a mint in stock prices, Jess begins to realize that there might be more to the scientist – and the science behind a soul mate – than she thought.

Funny, warm, and full of heart, The Soulmate Equation proves that the delicate balance between fate and choice can never be calculated.

Book Review

The Soulmate Equation is the perfect mix of romance and science. Jess is a single mother with no interest in dating. Jess and her best friend meet River at their usual coffee shop. River invites them to join the dating app he is developing, GeneticAlly. Matches are shown their compatibility by their DNA. River and Jess have a compatibility score of 98. Even though they don’t initially like each other, they get to know each other to help the app. I loved the concept of a dating app based on DNA and found the science behind it very interesting. I liked that Christina Lauren included science and statistics in the book. The Soulmate Equation is a great story full of romance and great characters. Jess and River seem very different at first, but their similarities are revealed the more time they spend together. I loved how River interacted with Jess’s daughter, Juno. Fizzy is a great side character and added entertainment throughout the book. She is the kind of best friend everyone needs. I also enjoyed that the main character’s name is Jess. The Soulmate Equation is now my favorite Christina Lauren novel.

I listened to the audiobook narrated by Patti Murin, and she could not have done a better job. Patti brought Jess to life.

Thank you Gallery Books and Simon & Schuster Audio for The Soulmate Equation.

About the Author

Christina Lauren is the combined pen name of long-time writing partners and best friends Christina Hobbs and Lauren Billings. The #1 international bestselling coauthor duo writes both Young Adult and Adult Fiction, and together has produced seventeen New York Times bestselling novels. They are published in over 30 languages, have received multiple starred reviews, won both the Seal of Excellence and Book of the Year from RT Magazine, been inducted into the Library Reads Hall of Fame, named Amazon and Audible Romance of the Year, a Lambda Literary Award finalist and been nominated for several Goodreads Choice Awards. They have been featured in publications such as ForbesThe Atlantic, The Washington PostTimeEntertainment Weekly, People, O Magazine and more. Their third YA novel, Autoboyography was released in 2017 to critical acclaim, followed by RoomiesLove and Other WordsJosh and Hazel’s Guide to Not Dating, The Unhoneymooners, In a Holidaze, and The Soulmate Equation.


Lauren Billings
 (but everyone calls her Lo) has a Ph.D. in neuroscience and before she made writing her full-time job, would spend her days doing nerdy research-type things wearing a lab coat and goggles. She is silly Mommy to two littles, wife to one mountain biking homebrewing scientist, and an unabashed lover of YA and romance.

Christina Hobbs (but you’ll always hear Lo call her PQ) used to spend her days in a junior high counseling office surrounded by teenagers. These days you can find her at her desk, writing or watching BTS videos. She lives in Utah with her husband and daughter, thinks she’s the luckiest person in the world to write books with her best friend, and is an unapologetic lover of boy bands and glitter.

Author Links:

5 thoughts on “Book Review: The Soulmate Equation

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s