Book Review: Black Buck

Black Buck by Mateo Askaripour

Author: Mateo Askaripour Narrator: Zeno Robinson Publication Date: January 4, 2021 ★★★★★ Book Description A New York Times BestsellerA Read with Jenna Today Show Book Club Pick! “Askaripour closes the deal on the first page of this mesmerizing novel, executing a high wire act full of verve and dark, comic energy.”—Colson Whitehead, author of The Nickel Boys“A hilarious, gleaming satire…

Book Review Blog Tour: The Girl at the Back of the Bus

The Girl at the Back of the Bus by Suzette D. Harrison

Author: Suzette D. Harrison Publication Date: February 8, 2021 ★★★★★ Book Description "I watched in awe as Miz Rosa stopped those men on the bus with her clear, calm “no” and I thought about that word. What if I said no? What if I refused to follow the path these White folks wanted for us? What if…

Book Review: Sasha Masha

Sasha Masha by Agnes Borinsky

Author: Agnes Borinksy Narrator: Agnes Borinksy Publication Date: November 10, 2020 ★★★★ Book Description In this #OwnVoices LGBTQ young adult debut, Alex comes to realize his true identity as a young woman named Sasha Masha. Alex feels like he is in the wrong body. His skin feels strange against his bones. And then comes Tracy,…

Book Review: Happily Ever Afters

Happily Ever Afters by Elise Bryant

Author: Elise Bryant Publication Date: January 5, 2021 ★★★★★ Book Description Jane the Virgin meets To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before in this charming debut romantic comedy filled with Black Girl Magic. Perfect for fans of Jenny Han, Mary H.K. Choi, and Nicola Yoon. Sixteen-year-old Tessa Johnson has never felt like the protagonist in her own life.…

Book Review: The Girl with the Louding Voice

The Girl with the louding voice by Abi Dare

Author: Abi Dare Narrator: Adjoa Andoh ★★★★★ Book Review The Girl with the Louding Voice by Abi Dare is one of the best books I’ve ever read. The Girl with the Louding Voice is the story of a fourteen year old girl fighting for a better life.  All Adunni has ever wanted was an education.…

WWW #2

WWW Wednesdays

WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Sam @ Taking On A World of Words where you answer three fixed questions. What are you currently reading? One daring to-do list and a crash course in flirtation turn a Type A overachiever’s world upside down. When her flailing department lands on the university’s chopping block, Professor Naya…

Can’t Wait Wednesday #3

Can't Wait Wednesday

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted here, at Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we’re excited about that we have yet to read. Generally they’re books that have yet to be released. It’s based on Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by the fabulous Jill at Breaking the Spine. If you’re continuing with WOW, feel free to…