Author: Fiona Lucas

Narrator: Antonia Beamish

Publication Date: June 8, 2021

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Book Description

Lost love. A second chance. A hidden secret.

Spencer was the love of Anna’s life: her husband, her best friend, her rock. She thought their love would last forever.

But three years ago, Spencer was tragically killed in an accident and Anna’s world was shattered. How can she ever move on, when she’s lost her soulmate?

On New Year’s Eve Anna calls Spencer’s phone number, just to hear his old voicemail greeting. But to her shock, someone answers…

Brody has inherited Spencer’s old number and is the first person who truly understands what Anna’s going through. As her and Brody’s phone calls become lengthier and more frequent, they begin opening up to each other—and slowly rediscover how to smile, how to laugh, even how to hope.

But Brody hasn’t been entirely honest with Anna. Will his secret threaten everything, just as it seems she might find the courage to love again?

Book Review

The Last Goodbye by Fiona Luca is an emotional story about overcoming grief.

Three years after Anna’s husband and the love of her life died she is finally trying to move on. Anna’s mother in law is making things difficult for her. Anna feels guilty about dating but doesn’t want to be alone all forever. Anna doesn’t have anyone she can talk to that understands until one day she calls her late husband’s cell to listen to his voicemail and Brody answers. An unlikely friendship develops. How will this friendship change Anna and Brody and impact their lives? Will Anna move on with her life and find happiness?

I really enjoyed The Last Goodbye. The story is very interesting and kept me invested the whole time. I was invested in Anna’s life from the beginning. It is tragic that Anna lost her husband, but I enjoyed how she is working to figure out how to move on and be happy without forgetting him. She is trying not to hurt anyone’s feelings or lose anyone in her life. Anna is struggling with what to do and doesn’t feel like her friends and family understands. When Brody answers Spencer’s old number, Anna now has someone that understands her. Brody has experienced a loss in his life but also has secrets. I enjoyed Anna and Brody’s friendship developing even when they didn’t know each other’s last names or what they looked like. Brody is a very interesting character, so I enjoyed learning about his life too. The Last Goodbye is emotional and a great story.

I listened to the audiobook narrated by Antonia Beamish and thought she did a great job. The narration added fit well with the story, and I’m glad I listened to the audiobook.

I recommend The Last Goodbye for fans of Jojo Moyes and Josie Silver.

Thank you Harper Audio, William Morrow and NetGalley for The Last Goodbye.

About the Author

Fiona Lucas is an award-winning author of contemporary women’s fiction. The Last Goodbye is her first novel written under the pen name of Fiona Lucas, but she’s been writing heartwarming love stories and feel-good women’s fiction as Fiona Harper for more than a decade.

During that time she has published 26 books and has won numerous awards, including a Romantic Novel Award in 2018, and chalked up a no.1 Kindle bestseller.

Fiona lives in London with her husband and two daughters.

Author Links:

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Last Goodbye

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s