Author: L.T. Vargus and Tim McBain

Publication Date: March 18, 2021

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Book Description

Nestled in the autumn leaves, her hair tangled in thick brambles, the girl looks like she could be sleeping amongst the wild roses. But the trail of red across her delicate throat means this is a slumber she will never wake from…

When a search party trawling Salem Island find a girl’s body curled on the damp earth, the hunt for missing waitress Emma Jacobis grinds to a devastating halt. The day before, Emma had come to Detective Charlie Winters convinced someone was watching her. In her trembling hand she held a sketch of herself sleeping peacefully with the stuffed rabbit she’d had since she was a child. On the back, scrawled in black ink: You will be mine…

A box containing handwritten letters found under Emma’s bed is Charlie’s first lead. But the handwriting isn’t a match to the note left for Emma. With the help of her new assistant, a troubled girl eager to learn the ropes, Charlie’s only hope is to canvas the bar where Emma worked. There, she finds a woman with fear in her eyes and a terrifying story to tell about an encounter with a dangerous stranger. Is someone in this small town targeting vulnerable girls as prey?

Certain she’s found a twisted killer’s hunting ground, and with time running out before he strikes again, Charlie has no choice but to use her new assistant as bait to lure him out into the open. But when a scream pierces through the night, will Charlie survive the consequences? She has to, or there’s no knowing how many more innocent girls will die …

An absolutely nail-biting and completely jaw-dropping crime thriller. Fans of Kendra Elliot, Robert Dugoni and Lisa Regan will be left reeling after reading in one sitting!

Book Review

Watch Her Sleep by L.T. Vargus and Tim McBain is a suspenseful mystery with strong female characters. Watch Her Sleep is the third book in the Detective Charlotte Winters series. This book can be read as a standalone, but parts of the previous books are revealed. I recommend reading the whole series. All of my favorite characters returned in Watch Her Sleep. Charlie is strong and determined to solve the case. The case she is working on is a woman that is being stalked. Charlie is reckless at times. Paige, Charlie’s assistant starts working in the field rather than just working on her computer. Zoe is back to help and joke around with Charlie. I was glad that Will returned in this book. Will is looking for forgiveness. The book grabbed my attention from the first page with action and suspense throughout. The story is told from Charlie, the victim, and the perpetrator’s perspectives. I loved the different viewpoints. This was my favorite book yet in the series and the ending had me very stressed out. I love when I can’t figure out the ending, and this one I only figured out in the last few chapters but was still wondering what would happen next. I recommend Watch Her Sleep to anyone that likes suspenseful mysteries.

Thank you Bookouture and NetGaley for Watch Her Sleep.

Book 1: First Girl Gone

Book 2: Girl Under Water

About the Author

L.T. Vargus and Tim McBain are the authors of the Violet Darger series and The Scattered and the Dead series among others, which have collectively tallied over a million downloads. Their book, Dead End Girl, peaked at #3 in the US Kindle charts and has remained in the top 10 in multiple sub-categories since it was published in 2017.

Author Links:

  • Website
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Buy Links:

    3 thoughts on “Book Review Blog Tour: Watch Her Sleep

    Leave a Reply

    Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

    You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

    Twitter picture

    You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

    Facebook photo

    You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

    Connecting to %s