Author: Mary Kubica

Narrators: Brittany Pressly, Jennifer Jill Araya, Gary Tiedmann, Jesse Vilinsky

Publication Date: May 18, 2021

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

Book Description

From the New York Times bestselling author of THE GOOD GIRL and THE OTHER MRS. comes a riveting new thriller about a series of disappearances that rock a small Chicago suburb. Perfect for fans of Sarah Pekkanen, Lisa Jewell, and Megan Miranda.

One family, a quiet suburban neighborhood, and a twisted string of secrets unravel in this gripping new thriller from the bestselling author of The Other Mrs.

Sometimes the truth is where you least expect it…

Shelby Tebow is the first to go missing. Not long after, Meredith Dickey and her six-year-old daughter Delilah disappear just blocks away from where Shelby was last seen, striking fear into their once-peaceful community. Are these incidents connected? After an elusive search that yields more questions than answers, the case eventually goes cold.

Now, eleven years later, Delilah shockingly returns. Everyone wants to know what happened to her, but no one is prepared for what they’ll find…. In this smart and chilling thriller, master of suspense Mary Kubica shows that some people will stop at nothing to keep their secrets buried.

Book Review

Local Woman Missing is a suspenseful thriller about multiple missing women. The book has multiple points of views and different time periods. This suspenseful book grabbed my attention the whole time. I kept trying to figure out if the disappearances are connected. When Delilah returns years after she was taken as a six year old, everyone wants to know what happened to her, but nobody will ask. Local Woman Missing is full of secrets and drama between families and friends. How far will people go to keep their secrets? I love Mary Kubica’s novels and Local Woman Missing did not disappoint. Local Woman Missing is a must read for thriller fans.

I listened to the audiobook narrated by Brittany Pressly, Jennifer Jill Araya, Gary Tiedmann, and Jesse Vilinsky. I really enjoyed all of the narrators, and they brought the characters to life.

Thank you Kathleen Carter Communications, Harper Audio and Park Row for Local Woman Missing.

About the Author

Mary Kubica is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of seven suspense novels, including THE GOOD GIRLPRETTY BABYDON’T YOU CRY, EVERY LAST LIE, WHEN THE LIGHTS GO OUT, THE OTHER MRS. and LOCAL WOMAN MISSING. A former high school history teacher, Mary holds a Bachelor of Arts degree from Miami University in Oxford, Ohio, in History and American Literature. She lives outside of Chicago with her husband and two children. Her first novel THE GOOD GIRL was an Indie Next pick in August of 2014, received a Strand Critics Nomination for Best First Novel and was a nominee in the Goodreads Choice Awards in Debut Goodreads Author and in Mystery & Thriller for 2014. Mary’s novels have been translated into over thirty languages and have sold over two million copies worldwide. She’s been described as “a helluva storyteller,” (Kirkus Reviews) and “a writer of vice-like control,” (Chicago Tribune), and her novels have been praised as “hypnotic” (People) and “thrilling and illuminating” (Los Angeles Times).

She is currently working on her next novel.

Author Links:

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Local Woman Missing

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s