Author: Rachel Hawkins

Narrators: Emily Shaffer, Kirby Heyborne, Lauren Fortgang

Publication Date: January 5, 2021

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Book Description

A delicious twist on a Gothic classic, The Wife Upstairs pairs Southern charm with atmospheric domestic suspense, perfect for fans of B.A. Paris and Megan Miranda.

Meet Jane. Newly arrived to Birmingham, Alabama, Jane is a broke dog-walker in Thornfield Estates—a gated community full of McMansions, shiny SUVs, and bored housewives. The kind of place where no one will notice if Jane lifts the discarded tchotchkes and jewelry off the side tables of her well-heeled clients. Where no one will think to ask if Jane is her real name.

But her luck changes when she meets Eddie­ Rochester. Recently widowed, Eddie is Thornfield Estates’ most mysterious resident. His wife, Bea, drowned in a boating accident with her best friend, their bodies lost to the deep. Jane can’t help but see an opportunity in Eddie—not only is he rich, brooding, and handsome, he could also offer her the kind of protection she’s always yearned for.

Yet as Jane and Eddie fall for each other, Jane is increasingly haunted by the legend of Bea, an ambitious beauty with a rags-to-riches origin story, who launched a wildly successful southern lifestyle brand. How can she, plain Jane, ever measure up? And can she win Eddie’s heart before her past—or his—catches up to her?

With delicious suspense, incisive wit, and a fresh, feminist sensibility, The Wife Upstairs flips the script on a timeless tale of forbidden romance, ill-advised attraction, and a wife who just won’t stay buried. In this vivid reimagining of one of literature’s most twisted love triangles, which Mrs. Rochester will get her happy ending?

Book Review

The Wife Upstairs is a suspenseful book with a shocking ending that had me invested from the beginning.

Jane is a dogwalker in a rich gated community called Thornwood Estates. She frequently steals jewelry and small items from her clients. Then she meets Eddie whose wife is presumed dead after a boating accident a year ago with her best friend. Eddie and Jane quickly fall in love and their relationship progresses. Jane is happy with the money and stability Eddie provides. However, Jane is living in Bea’s shadow and can’t seem to get away from comparison. Will Jane and Eddie’s secrets pull them apart or bring them closer together?

I was invested in The Wife Upstairs from the beginning. I loved the story. It definitely seemed predictable at times, but I didn’t want to put the book down. I really enjoyed the story. I didn’t really like Jane, but really wanted the best for her. There were definitely times I wanted to yell at her because I was so invested in the story. I thought I knew exactly what was going to happen next and was wrong multiple times. I love reading unpredictable books.

I recommend The Wife Upstairs to fans of domestic suspense especially if you like books that seem predictable with a shocking ending.

Thank you St. Martin’s Press, Macmillan Audio, Libro.fm and NetGalley for The Wife Upstairs audiobook.

About the Author

RACHEL HAWKINS is the New York Times bestselling author of multiple books for young readers, and her work has been translated in over a dozen countries. She studied gender and sexuality in Victorian literature at Auburn University and currently lives in Alabama. The Wife Upstairs is her first adult novel.

Author Links:

13 thoughts on “Book Review: The Wife Upstairs

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s